Recent Post

Two Mizo Kids To Get Bravery Award

New Delhi, Jan 18, 2010:Two brave kids fromMizoram are among the 21 children selected to received the National Bravery Awards 2009 from Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh on January 21.

The two are Master Zonunsanga and Master Lalrammawia. The winners – 8 girls and 13 boys – have been selected by a high powered committee in recognition for their outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service. Two Awards will be given posthumously.

The coveted Bharat Award will be given to 13 year old Master Gaurav Singh Saini of Haryana who saved approximately 50-60 people in a stampede at the Naina Devi temple. Master Karan Nishad of Uttar Pradesh has been selected for the Sanjay Chopra Award. This 11 year old boy saved five persons from drowning. The prestigious Geeta Chopra Award will be conferred on 10 year old Km. Maibam Prity Devi of Manipur who saved several lives when miscreants hurled a grenade inside their shop at Mayang Imphal Bazar.Late Km. Ranu Mishra (10 years) of Uttar Pradesh will get the Bapu Gaidhani Award posthumously for displaying exemplary courage in saving her brother and his friend from drowning. Ultimately, she sacrificed her life for her determined effort. Master Vijith V. (16 years) of Kerala and Master Narendrasinh Natvarsinh Solanki (17 ½ years) of Gujarat will also get Bapu Gaidhani Awards for their acts of bravery. Vijith saved four children from drowning in river Kallada while Narendrasinh saved his father from the clutches of a crocodile in Dhadhar river.

Along with courageous acts there are instances of bold decisions and revolts against prevailing social-evil. The three girl childs from West Bengal — Km. Rekha Kalindi (11 years), Km. Sunita Mahato (11 years 4 months) and Km. Afsana Khatun (12 years 5 months) refused to get married at early age and wanted to continue their studies. Ultimately, parents of these brave hearts gave in and the girls were allowed to continue their studies.

The other recipients are : Master Uddesh R. Ramnathkar (Goa), Master Dijekshon Syiem, Km. Thoi Thoi Khumanthem (Manipur), Master Zonunsanga, Master Lalrammawia (both from Mizoram), Master Sujith R., Master Amal Antony, Km. Krishnapriya K., Master Sujith Kumar P.(all from Kerala), Late Master Dijekshon Syiem (Meghalaya), Km. Vaishaliben Sambhubhai Solanki (Gujarat) and Master Yogesh Kumar Jangid (Rajasthan).

The children will participate in the Republic Day parade at Rajpath.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.